Convicts of nonviolent Class C and D felonies no longer have to wait 5 years to get an expungement, and most misdemeanants no longer have to wait 60 days. However, some misdemeanants still have to wait 5 years (DWIs, Domestic Batteries, etc).
Class A and B convictions that are in the 5-64-401 chapter (drug and drug related convictions)
Also, the $50 fee has been eliminated for all requests to seal, so there are no more court costs associated with filing an expungement in Arkansas. This law went into effect on July 24th, 2019. Click here to see the entire bill on the Arkansas Legislature website. If that link breaks down, I’ve attached the images of the bill to the bottom of this blog post.
The legislature was considering automatically sealing or expunging Arkansas criminal records, however that measure failed. See
This particular blog post is not particularly informative, but if you click on the links below it should answer your questions about Arkansas expungements completely.
If you need help in Fort Smith, Van Buren, or Fayetteville, Arkansas about expungements, give one of our attorneys a call or shoot us an email at (479) 782-1125 or [email protected]ansasLawKing.com
This is a complicated issue. This blog is not legal advice. We do not represent you.
I’ve written blogs on the two most common statutes used to expunge misdemeanors and felonies in Arkansas and they are:
The rest of the Arkansas expungement statutes are much rarer: